2019, what will you bring?

Long time no talk!

Let’s see, in the close to 9 months I’ve missed writing on here, I have moved out of my parents’ house and into an apartment, got into a car accident that totalled my car, and am attempting to train a new employee at my current job. Lots of stuff came and went or stayed and stewed, but I’m here and alive.

And boy, do I have shit to say.

I’ve had a lot of time to myself over the past three months since I’ve been at my new place and I can honestly say this was one of the best decisions I could have made. I don’t know if it’s the change of scenery or the new responsibilities that an apartment brings, but I kinda learned a lot about myself and how I handle things over these few months. And I can say this without any doubts that even though adulting can be very tough some days, I’m doing so good.

For example, the accident. Yes, it was my first accident, so I was out of my depth there. It was weather related, so I was not the only person who got into a wreck that day. I went through the claims process, got my car to the shop as soon as I could, and was able to get the totalled check just a few hours after. Did I cry when I heard the news? Yes I did. But the process was painless because I had all of my paperwork with me and had prepared everything for what could happen next. My anxiety should have been through the roof, but it wasn’t and it showed me that even though I need assistance with my axiousness, I can at least function through something that would normally have me shut down. I call that growth.

Yes, I’m still at the job I’m not 100% happy with. Searching for new employment is kinda hard, especially when most of the open positions are part time or full time, but need experience. I’ve got clerical skills thanks to my current position, but there’s a lot of secondary requirements that I don’t know how to do.  This position, for now, is something I’ll need to stick with for a little longer. I’m in no danger of losing my job and training the newbie will actually help me to move myself up in rank and pay.

I’ll have more to write later, but for now, I hope this sums up what the heck’s been going on.

 

Leave a comment